Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is it possible to automatically create a variable?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/07/2017 04:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/07/2017 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

When I add an action it usually asks for a variable that I have not defined yet. For example, I may place a result in "myNewVariable". I then have to remember to create the variable "myNewVariable".

Is it possible to have it automatically created when using a variable that hasn't been defined yet?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7


Edited: 05/07/2017 at 05:43 PM by ErikLundstrom
 05/08/2017 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Erik,

It is possible to have AutoMate create the variable, however this does require a number of steps to accomplish. Below are sample steps that show how this would be done.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/08/2017 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

Thank you, but I do not understand how to use this script.
I am not sure if I explained well what I wanted?

What I wanted was for Automate to automatically add (=create) the variable to the script as I am writing the script.

For example, I am in the middle of writing a script; I add an action, e.g. Get Cell (in Excel); I now need to add a variable in "populate variable" in the Action Properties window but I haven't defined this variable yet. I add the new variable "MyNewVariable". After closing the Action Properties window, I need to add this new variable to my script (Ctrl+Alt+V) .

What I wanted was for Automate to automatically create "MyNewVariable" after using it in the Action Properties window instead of having to do it myself (using Ctrl+Alt+V).

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 05/10/2017 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

I do apologize however the software is not designed to do so, I have gone ahead and added a feature request with on your behalf into our database (22613).

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/11/2017 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

Originally posted by: Ricardo Castaneda

Hello,



I do apologize however the software is not designed to do so, I have gone ahead and added a feature request with on your behalf into our database (22613).

Thanks.
I suggest that a popup window is triggered when the user adds a nonexistent variable "myNewVariable" in an action. It would ask "Do you want to add (create) a new Variable "myNewVariable" YES/NO?


 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 05/11/2017 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

We will make sure your suggestion gets passed on, thank you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1156 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1156 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog