Increase font size
Topic Title: Logging
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2013 12:51 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2013 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DonHavard
Student (5-19 posts)

Hey folks - So I'm somewhat new to BPA server, so apologies if this is a stupid question, but I've looked everywhere and can't find the information I am looking for.

Does BPA server keep details logs of the tasks that run?  For example, keeping track of all the details you would see in the debugger (like variable values, error information, etc)?  For instance, I have a task that gets triggered at a specific time in the middle of the night.  The task has many steps to it.  When that runs, the task fails at some random step.  Looking at the report tab for the execution status all I can see is that if failed at a particular step for whatever reason, but the cause for the failure might have been many steps before that and the only way to determine that is to have detailed logs.  In this instance, running through the debugger to see why it failed isn't an option because those tasks that happened previously cannot be rerun.  

So does BPA keep that level of detailed logging?  If so, where do I find it?

Category Survey
 02/02/2013 12:46 PM

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Don,
logging does not include all details that can be shown in the task builder "Output" pane.
The level of logging can be specified in the SMC options, but is limited at workflow and task level. It does not log step level.

Of course this should help for debugging, but it is not currently available, as far as I know.

If you need logging some additional information, you can do it by including "Write to log" actions in your tasks.