Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA Tasks are not running
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/08/2015 02:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/08/2015 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KumarParameswaran
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 127
Joined: 10/10/2012

Lately my BPA Tasks are not running as it supposed to be. I didn't get any error message or couldn't find any log in the windows event viewer.

All the triggers are firing and the duration is constatnt for all the tasks. To get this resolved, I've to restart the BPA Server.

Please let me know how to troubleshoot this issue.

Thanks



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.3
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2


Click for full image
Click for larger image

 04/09/2015 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Kumar,

Unfortunately there isn't enough information to guide down the correct troubleshooting path. Are the server and agent installed on the same machine? Is there a higher than normal task/workflow load prior to requiring a reboot? Before restarting the machine, do you see any of the BPA processes consuming large amounts of RAM or CPU? Would it be possible to upgrade to v9.0.5?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 04/10/2015 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KumarParameswaran
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 127
Joined: 10/10/2012

Leonard,

Yes, the server and the agent are installed in the same machine.

Restarting the machine not required. I've to kill all the BPA running processes and have to bring BPA Console back. I will watch for RAM consumption next time.

We are in the process of upgrading the server as you suggested.

Thanks



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.3
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 04/13/2015 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Kumar,

I would actually suggest that you install the Agent on its own machine if possible. This would be best moving forward.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 04/21/2015 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KumarParameswaran
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 127
Joined: 10/10/2012

Ricardo,

Thanks for your reply. The Agent has been also installed in its own machine. (Listed under Task Agents)

When I run the task in the task builder, I got "Execution server connection is broken. No items will run." error.

Thanks



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.3
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 04/21/2015 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Kumar,

Can you please check the Windows Event Viewer (under application) on the Agent and Server machine for any errors?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/01/2015 10:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlejandroVillarreal
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 55
Joined: 10/23/2014

Kumar, if it happens again, before restarting the services I would also suggest checking the running workflows count (in the Dashboard tab). As I described here, we have a similar issue and we've tied it pretty tightly to the running workflows count being incorrect. If you're experiencing the same thing, increasing your throttling settings to allow more concurrent workflows allows the queued jobs to execute, but this is just a workarond before having to restart the services.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 05/06/2015 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KumarParameswaran
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 127
Joined: 10/10/2012

Hi Alejandro,

When this happens the running workflows count is zero. I don't find any workflow queued either.

Appreciated if you could shed some light on this, since lately its happening a lot.

Thanks

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.3
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 05/08/2015 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valentineo McGowan
HelpSystems

Posts: 766
Joined: 09/03/2013

Hello Kumar,

1 I noticed from your screenshot that you have a scheduled workflow that executes every 20seconds. What is the normal total execution time for the task in question?
Would you be so kind as to export the Workflow in question from the SMC, *.zip it up and attach it to this forum thread so we may review OR email it to automate.support@helpsystesms.com if it contains sensitive information?
Please use the Topic Title: 'BPA Tasks are not running' as the Subject.

2 Under Options > Server Settings > Load Management
Do you have a value set in the 'Limit the number of concurrently running workflows' option? If so, please deselect this option.

3 After reading your initial post, you have yet to clearly define precisely what the issue you are having. Is it that your tasks are stopping at 50seconds?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Valentineo McGowan | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1 213.738.6966 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 10/19/2015 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KumarParameswaran
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 127
Joined: 10/10/2012

Please let me know how to upgrade my version from 9.0.3 to 9.0.5

We are still experiencing the issue.

Thanks

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.3
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 10/19/2015 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valentineo McGowan
HelpSystems

Posts: 766
Joined: 09/03/2013

Hello Kumar,

Please let us know your availability for setting up a Remote Session so we may see this issue first hand.
AutoMate Technical Support is available from 6.00am to 5.00pm Monday through Friday Pacific time (GMT -7).
Toll Free 888.786.4796
I am personally available from 8.00am to 5.00pm Monday through Friday Pacific time (GMT -7).

And we can discuss upgrading you from v9034 to v9054.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Valentineo McGowan | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1 213.738.6966 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2696 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2696 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog