Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Moving Database to remote SQL server
Topic Summary: BPA Server 9
Created On: 06/11/2015 08:14 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2015 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

What is the proper procedure for moving the local database to a remote SQL server?
I am using BPA Server 9 and all functions are working normally when using the
local SQL database. I need to move to a remote dedicated SQL server and i am
doing something wrong. I had a new/empty database created at the remote location
and gave read/write permission to the SQL account, but when I connect all agents
stay red and i cannot open the SMC (login failed).

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 06/11/2015 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi John,

How did you migrate the data from one database to the other? If you changed the database connection information in the SMC, it should have prompted you to migrate the data.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/11/2015 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

Got it fixed, was a persmissions issue.

Thanks

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 06/18/2015 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

I was able to migrate the DB and it is working great.
One issue i noticed is that I have some Schedules that are set to run every
day but only for part of the day. They are set to run in interval:"MINUTES"
every 10 minutes and exclude "between 2:30:00PM and 11:59:00PM".
The problem is that it just keeps running all day long when it shoudl stop at 2:30pm.
Does that mean the i have to change to a "Custom" schedule and list every day of
the week and the times?

Thanks,


 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 06/18/2015 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello John,

As a test, please try re creating your triggers. Since you were having an issue with database migration, it could be that some of your triggers did not transfer correctly.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/19/2015 06:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

I tried creating a new trigger but here is no "EXCLUDE" tab on the timer/condition.
I tried importing the workflow still no "EXCLUDE" tab on the timer/condition.
I searched HELP and it even says that there is an "EXCLUDE".

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 06/19/2015 06:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

Sorry, I found the "Exclusion" by right clicking on the timer and propeties.
Any reasion why it was moved out of the GUI?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 06/19/2015 06:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi John,

The change is by design and is where you will be able to find the exclusions.

I apologize for the confusion.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 06/19/2015 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

No worries.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1788 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1788 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog