Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA Connection to Teradata with LDAP authentication
Topic Summary: Can you get BPA to connect with Teradata when the oranization uses LDAP authentication?
Created On: 07/06/2015 01:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2015 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TonGordon
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 87
Joined: 05/17/2011

Hi,

I noticed your Database Query dialog prompts for a Teradata OLEDB DB Connection for Teradata. Our organization uses LDAP for Teradata authentication for development id's. The LDAP seems like Windows Auth and you put in the same userid and password. So are any of your customers using your Teradata Dialog box to connect to Teradata with LDAP authentication?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:
 07/08/2015 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valentineo McGowan
HelpSystems

Posts: 766
Joined: 09/03/2013

Hello TonGordon,

Are you speaking of the Open SQL Connection activity? If so, do you see the 'Teradata OLEDB DB Connection for Teradata' under the Provider tab? If so, please keep in mind the list of OLE DB provider(s) is a dynamic list compiled of provider DB drivers based on two factors:

1 What divers are installed on the machine in question wherein BPA Server 9 resides
2 The drivers in the list are x86 versions because BPA Server 9 will not be able to access the 64bit versions

That being said this will vary from machine to machine.

Lastly, the Data Link Properties window if opened 'outside' of BPA Server (Task Builder) might be different as well. In a nutshell, the available drivers are only available to BPA Server. So only another client who has software and drivers installed for 'Teradata' would see this option within the provider list and we have no way to determine A) What drivers our clients have access to or B) How they are choosing to connect to their DB's.

Therefore you will have to determine the best provider driver to connect to the database in question.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Valentineo McGowan | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1 213.738.6966 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/29/2015 01:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BenjaminKorper
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 06/18/2009

We also have Teradata DB's we interact with. We use the ODBC drivers for Teradata.

Regards,

Benjamin

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 969 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 969 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog