Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Odd problem. Telling automate to run as default user but it is not running with it.
Topic Summary: We have automate set to run as our default user but it is trying to run as someone else
Created On: 01/26/2016 06:29 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/26/2016 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaryWesterman
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 89
Joined: 08/18/2014

Task set up to run as current default user.  When we run the task, the program does not run because it thinks it is logged on as another user.  Tried controlling it by only running in background with the credentials specified, still failed.  The program we are running in the task works perfectly outside of automate BPA and if we create a .bat file to run the program within a task it works fine.

 

Confused.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 01/27/2016 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Mary,

AutoMate determines where the task will execute based on where the event monitor is. Open your windows task manager and look for a process called BPAEM.exe. This process will be assigned to one user. Is it assigned to the correct user? If not, please log off the user, until it gets assigned to the correct user. Once the event monitor is present, then the task should execute on that user's session.

Please let us know if that works for you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/28/2016 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaryWesterman
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 89
Joined: 08/18/2014

I checked the agent, and looked for the process, right now, automation is logged on to BPAEM, but the process still does not work when running under BPA.  Works fine if I run outside of BPA while logged on as automation.

This seems to be a problem.  How can I make sure that all the tasks run as our default user all the time?  We can't have processes suddenly stop working because someone else logs onto the agent and it decides to start running workflows and tasks as the other person.

This may be why another one of our other workflows stops working occasionally.

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2


Edited: 01/28/2016 at 10:26 AM by MaryWesterman
 02/01/2016 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valentineo McGowan
HelpSystems

Posts: 766
Joined: 09/03/2013

Hello Mary,

Are these interactive tasks or non-interactive tasks?
What is the exact error message when this behavior occurs?

If 'interactive' then the Default User should be assigned to the BPA Event Monitor (BPAEM.exe). By default this is set to 'First user logged on'. If another user logs onto the machine, let say using RDP and has the BPAEM assigned to him/her then when the task is set to execute; the task will fail because the Event Monitor is not presently assigned to the user specified to execute said task. In this case the Default User.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Valentineo McGowan | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1 213.738.6966 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/02/2016 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaryWesterman
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 89
Joined: 08/18/2014

These are non-interactive - meaning they are not access or excel type tasks.  If run in foreground, a window may appear that will show what is happening, but no user interaction needs to occur.

We need to be able to tell all the tasks that they are always to run as the default user no matter who is logged on.  How can I assign the correct user to the BPAEM?

Picking up the wrong user is causing a lot of issues.

We've tried several things today to try to get it to always use the Automation account, but as soon as it is logged off, it goes back to picking up the first user that logs back on.

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2


Edited: 02/02/2016 at 09:06 AM by MaryWesterman
 02/02/2016 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Mary,

You can set the BPAEM.exe to a specific user by completing the following;

1. Open the SMC
2. Select Options
3. Select Default Properties
4. Select Miscellaneous
5. Change the "Event Monitor user context" to Specified user

Note: A restart of the Agent Service is required when this setting is changed.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 02/02/2016 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaryWesterman
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 89
Joined: 08/18/2014

Nothing comes up under specified user.  I had looked there but could not enter anything when I selected the dropdown for specified user.  I added the user in the open field that is the only place to enter anything (Event monitor user name).  Do I need to restart the service on all three agents?

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 02/02/2016 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Mary,

You will need to enter the username you would like the BPAEM.exe to run as (it should match the user that your workflows run as).

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 02/02/2016 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaryWesterman
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 89
Joined: 08/18/2014

I think I got it working.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 02/02/2016 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Mary,

Thank you for the update.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1940 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1940 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog