Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need help getting a workflow to fail
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2018 03:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2018 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnReckas
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/18/2018

I'm new to this and the person here before didn't leave much. I've attached a task, the problem is that there are 2 files that are locked by another program however this workflow still says it's renaming the files but the files are not there. How do I get the job to fail if the file it's trying to rename is in use, there by not allowing it to be renamed.

Since the job runs every 15 minutes noise is just populating my email box with non existent renamed files.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 01/19/2018 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

Would it be possible to provide a few sample files that will be renamed?

Is the location of the files on a network share or is it local?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 01/19/2018 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnReckas
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/18/2018

The location of the files are on a network share

The files are in a similar format to this

7a92a810-4617-43f1-b80e-dd43e128f9e1trace.log

Then the job is supposed to see that and rename it to be more user friendly.

I stepped through the job last night while looking at the directory with the file that is in use and the job reported that it renamed the file but I refreshed the directory and the file was still in the above format.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 01/22/2018 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi John,

The 'Rename' step is only set to fail on certain errors. Can we change this back to "All problems" (default)?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/22/2018 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnReckas
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/18/2018

I can make a note of the custom list and change it back to the default and see what happens.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 01/22/2018 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

We look forward to hearing your result.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 01/25/2018 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnReckas
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/18/2018

That worked it's now failing with this message.

Error Text:
File System failed (Error : The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.)(Step 6)

Thanks, Do you know which specific error code that was, just for my reference.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 01/25/2018 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello John,

Please verify that the file that is being called is closed, the error should clear after that.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 545 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 545 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog