Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA10 Agent Hindering some accented characters key combinations
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/16/2013 08:53 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/16/2013 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

On French keyboard, there are some accented characters that need keying two keys
e.g. ë is obtained by keying first UpperCase+¨ then e
î is obtained by typing ^ then i

I noticed malfunctioning of those combinations when BPA10 is running.
This malfunctioning is the same whatever the target application of the text being keyed (notepad, word, or whatever).
The accent character does not work, or is doubled, or has strange behaviors, hardly reproducible. After some research in Google, this looks like the result of some malware or adware, hard to eradicate.

When I stop all three BPA10 services, those keys work perfectly.
Starting BPA10 Execution service, it still works OK
Starting Management service on top of Execution service, it's still OK
Starting the Agent Sce creates the bug.
Stopping the agent returns normal behavior.

Conclusion : there is some bug in the BPA Agent that prevents multiple keystrokes characters to be typed.



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 10/17/2013 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Could this be reproduced by N/A ?

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 10/17/2013 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

Do you currently have any key triggers assigned to the agent?



-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 10/17/2013 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Leonard,
I myself did not assign any key to BPA10 agent.
I wondered if some keys were assigned by N/A that I didn't know of.

The problem does not materialize for other dual key characters as ñ ~ (~ with AltGr+2) and ù ` (`with AltGr+7)
It happens only with the circumflex ^ and trema ¨ key in ^âêîôû and ¨äëïöü

If you don't have a physical French keyboard at hand you (at least I) can experience it in the very same way with the visual keyboard.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 10/24/2013 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

What visual keyboard are you using? I unfortunately do not have a French keyboard to reproduce this issue.




-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 10/24/2013 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Leonard,
I use the Windows 7 visual keyboard "C:\Windows\System32\osk.exe" together with the Windows language toolbar to select the setting.
Here is the layout of the French visual keyboard where I have highlighted the subject key.

But you can also use a physical English keyboard with the French keyboard settings
French ^ key is English [ Low Case
French ¨ key is English { Upper Case

If you type on an English keyboard (with French keyboard settings) [e it results in ê
or you type {i it results in ï



-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 10/25/2013 at 03:52 AM by JeanDelfosse
 11/04/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

We are unable to reproduce this issue internally. We have tested with AM9, AM10, and BPA10 and the key combinations work 100% of the time using the French keyboard from the language toolbar. There may be another conflict on the machine that might be causing this.







-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/04/2013 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Since this problem is on accented characters, maybe (although unlikely) it is linked to the other localization problem which truncates the messages/bubbles/warnings, etc on any accented character. BPA system messages truncated on first accented character (#4985 ?)
I would appreciate having this second bug resolved and test again if by chance it does not resolve also the dual key characters problem.

But I am not very confident in this happy end, since the bug in this thread hinders the typing combination whatever the language used in BPA. It is clearly and unequivocally linked to BPA10 Agent running or not.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 11/05/2013 07:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

We must be missing another setting or configuration that is preventing me from reproducing the issue. I have tried to reproduce the issue with English and French localizations with no luck so far. Are all of your settings for BPA at default?



-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/05/2013 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I attach here all properties of my keyboard, including driver and languages (English, French, Arabic) installed in my system.
My BPA installation was made without changing any of the default settings.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 12/03/2013 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

We are still unable to reproduce what you are experiencing. We will be releasing another public beta within the next couple of weeks. Once that build has been release, please let us know if the problem persists.





-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/21/2013 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

This problem persists in BPA10.0.0.33
It is a real showstopper for using BPA10 on French Windows

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 12/22/2013 at 06:47 AM by JeanDelfosse
 01/11/2014 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Now that I have installed a remote agent on an XP machine (French Windows XP), the very same problem happens on that agent.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 01/23/2014 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

The problem reported above is on a Win 7 computer running BPA Server and Agent.
It is exactly the same on another XP computer that runs only the agent.
I keep wishing this will disappear when the localization problem #4985nullis resolved

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/18/2014 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Jean,

Would it be possible for you to test this issue in Beta 3?

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 03/18/2014 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

No luck, Ricardo.
It still behaves as in the previous Betas.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1473 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1473 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog