Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Version control of Automate tasks/workflows
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/17/2014 09:21 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2014 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesHalinson
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 122
Joined: 12/11/2013

Hi,

Being new to using Automate/BPA Server, I am wondering if there is a recommended approach to version control of tasks and workflows. For example if someone makes a change to a task which causes a problem and we want to roll back to an earlier version.

One idea is to export each task and store it in a version control system but I am wondering if there are any more integrated approaches.

Thanks,

James

 01/17/2014 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valentineo McGowan
HelpSystems

Posts: 766
Joined: 09/03/2013

Hello James,

Currently there is no such 'version control' that you speak of on the workflow and/or task level.

A very simple solution would be to create a folder and then place a copy of the workflow and/or task in question and add a 'date' to the name of the file.
Granted keep in my this increases more human error and will have to be maintained very carefully. You also do not want any of these workflows/tasks to be enabled.

-------------------------

Valentineo McGowan | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1 213.738.6966 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/28/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

James

We use Automate 9 and specify a Tasks folder that all tasks are saved to. That folder is then added to our Subversion repository. If there is ever a change made at the Task Builder level, it will mark the file in the Tasks folder as having been modified - and we can then chose to either commit that or revert to the previously saved version that was committed prior.

Craig Korinko
Enterprise Solutions Integrator
Avnet, Inc.
 01/28/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesHalinson
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 122
Joined: 12/11/2013

Thanks Craig, this is what we were thinking of doing as we already use SVN

Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 988 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 988 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog