Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Could datasets be made collapsable in variables list ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2014 06:50 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2014 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

See picture
When working with datasets in task builder, the often long list of their attributes obscures the variables list, both in the task builder "variables" pane and in the expression builder.
Especially when several datasets are used wit many fields in them.
It would be very nice having the capability to collapse/expand at will those datasets fields lists with the use of a +/- on the dataset name row. Task builder when a task is opened would show all datasets initially collapsed, then during the session TB would remember their individual collapsed/expanded status, in order to make both task and expression building more user friendly.

The collapsed/expanded status of a dataset could either be common to the variables pane and the expression builder, or be independent for both... development to advise.

Here is shown an expanded view
and here the collapsed view

The very same collapse/expand feature should be applied to "Structure" objects as well

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 03/01/2014 at 10:27 AM by JeanDelfosse
 03/01/2014 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gijsberth de Ruiter
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 455
Joined: 03/30/2005

Jean,
good point.

A bit similar to this request (from a custom dialog).

Gijsberth

-------------------------
I am an A-Team Member
 03/04/2014 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

I have added your request to our database as a feature request (#F561).

Thank you for your input.

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 03/04/2014 12:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Thank you, Ricardo.
There is no matter of emergency, but it would really help.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/05/2014 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexLalvani
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2014

Agree with this feature request. Would make managing dataset debugging a lot easier, especially if you have several and/or very large datasets.

Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1021 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1021 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog