Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA3 unexpected error on Message box (D5335)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/18/2014 11:56 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/18/2014 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

The message box action does not work.
It produces an "unexpected error" before displaying anything.
Both from task builder AND from a triggered workflow
See picture


Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 03/21/2014 at 02:01 PM by JeanDelfosse
 03/19/2014 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Has anyone else experienced the same problem ?

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/19/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omar Castillon
HelpSystems

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/16/2010

Hello Jean,

We are unable to reproduce this on our systems. To further investigate this possible issue, can you please provide us with a copy of your task? In addition, can you please change the verbiage and run your task again to see if the issue persists?





-------------------------
Omar Castillon | Program Test Engineer, HelpSystems
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
www.helpsystems.com
 03/19/2014 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Omar,
this happens in TB with the only step that I have previously posted.
No matter with the verbiage.
It happens as well in more complicated triggered tasks with the very same error.
No message box at all can be displayed from an AMSHOWDIALOG step.
But message box comes nicely from basic script.
See picture


Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/20/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omar Castillon
HelpSystems

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/16/2010

Jean,

We are unable to reproduce the issue with the steps provided. We will need a crash dump file in order to accurately pinpoint and correct the issue. Please follow the below instructions to obtain a crash dump file:

WINDOWS VISTA, WINDOWS 2008, WINDOWS 7:
From Task Manager, right-click on the process that appears to have hung or generated an error message and then select 'create dump file'. Once the dump file has been created, you will be given the path and file name of the dump file. Please compress the file and attach it to your post with:

- Windows version (i.e. Windows XP SP3 x86)
- Automate version (i.e. Automate BPA Server v9.0.0.19)
- Reproduction instructions, including sample .aml


-------------------------
Omar Castillon | Program Test Engineer, HelpSystems
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
www.helpsystems.com
 03/20/2014 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Omar,
I will try and create a dump, but my experience in doing so is rather bad, because the dump is so huge that I cannot send it to you. Unless you provide some ftp where I could upload it.

However I attach two Event Log messages pertaining to the error
One in TB, the other one in BPAEM
Both refer to a mathematic overflow in AutoMate Plugins.

Windows 7 pro SP1
BPA10.0.0.35
The display is 1920x1200 pixels, and the readability setting for the size is 125%
The AML is included in the event log blow

Do you still need a dump ? I thing those events would suffice.
The dump is 840MB, and zipped 212MB

EDIT: I made a test changing the display size setting to 100% instead of 125%
In this setting, the message boxes display nicely.
Hence the bug is in the "Automate Plugins" not taking into account the display adjustment setting other than 100%



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 03/20/2014 at 09:06 PM by JeanDelfosse
 03/21/2014 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omar Castillon
HelpSystems

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/16/2010

Jean,

Thank you for providing the additional information. I was able to reproduce the issue and no longer require the dump. This issue has been entered on our database (D5335).

-------------------------
Omar Castillon | Program Test Engineer, HelpSystems
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
www.helpsystems.com
 03/21/2014 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Great, Omar.
I wish this gets a high priority, since I always use 125%.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1701 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1701 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog