Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 64-Bit issues with 32-Bit Applications
Topic Summary: Major Issue - Show Stopper!
Created On: 04/03/2014 01:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/03/2014 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
N i c k
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 183
Joined: 03/11/2006

I installed AutoMate 10 x64 (Beta 3) on Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1.

As I suspected no such luck establishing SQL connections from AMTA and AMTB to Oracle Databases.

Yes I did try removing 32-Bit and installed 64-Bit drivers - however that caused issues with other 32-Bit applications depending on 32-Bit drivers. I also tried running both that didn't work.


Also AM tasks that use Microsoft Jet Driver no longer work. I use this to run SQL's against CSV files.

Anyone else having these issues?



In Reference to:
.64-Bit Support: The Beta 3 release comes with four installers: AutoMate 10 x86, AutoMate 10 x64, AutoMate BPA Server 10 x86 and AutoMate BPA Server 10 x64. The 32-bit versions of AutoMate and BPA Server 10 will not install on 64-bit operating systems, while the 64-bit versions will not install on 32-bit operating systems.


Edited: 04/03/2014 at 02:08 PM by N i c k
 04/03/2014 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Nick,
I confirm the problem.
Jet is deprecated and cannot be invoked from a 64 bits app.
See http://www.connectionstrings.c...n-64-bit-environments/
I am trying to follow the instructions in there and will post the outcome when it hopefully finally works.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 04/04/2014 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I did install the requested 64 bits driver but was unable to connect.
N/A please advise

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/22/2014 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RiannGilleland
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/18/2013

Did you guys happen to find a workaround for this issue?

I haven't, although I haven't put a ton of time in to it either.

I have a lot of SQL calls to CSV files in our current AM9 setup, so this is a prety big issue for me as well. Well, unless there's some other way to call to the specific data I need from a CSV (get * where x = y type thing) instead that I've missed, as opposed to taking the time to loop through an entire (sometimes very large) dataset to get it. 

Thanks!



Edited: 05/22/2014 at 04:04 PM by RiannGilleland
 05/22/2014 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Riann,

This has been corrected in more recent internal builds of v10 and the correction will be present in the final public release when it is made available.




-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/23/2014 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Leonard, will there be a Beta 4?
I feel very uncomfortable if there is none.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/23/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Jean,

Beta 3 is the last public beta release. There will still be internal builds and testing and perhaps an A-Team release at a later date (TBD).




-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/25/2014 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Ok. An ATeam beta will be welcome.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/27/2014 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RiannGilleland
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/18/2013

Originally posted by: Leonard Amabile (N.A.) Riann, This has been corrected in more recent internal builds of v10 and the correction will be present in the final public release when it is made available.

 

Much appreciated, thanks! 

Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 832 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 832 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog