Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: First Process doesn't run correctly
Topic Summary: The first process doesn't run scheduled, yet, manually, it works perfectly
Created On: 08/21/2017 09:12 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/21/2017 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottMiller
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 04/18/2005

I've got a series of 7 processes, each with multiple steps, that are set to run every Friday morning at 7 am. When run on the schedule, the first process never runs correctly and leaves some windows open. I always have to wait until they're all done (8 am) and then close the windows and re-run the first process.

If I run that first process manually, it works perfectly. I've even set it to run later today to see if it runs fine - perfectly. I can't figure out why only Friday mornings and it appears that after sitting for 12+ hours, it hangs up.

Any ideas?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
I'd rather be fishing.
 08/21/2017 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi Scott,

What is the exact point of failure?  Is a "close window" action not closing a window?

Not really related to that, but one common cause may be a timing issue.  Perhaps the task runs a little bit slower in the AM due to other processes running, etc.



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/13/2017 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottMiller
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 04/18/2005

I've thought about other processes running, but I don't think so.
It runs at the time that I'm usually driving into work, so I've scheduled it to run later, so I can watch it and see what actually happens.

Sorry, Automate 10.6.0.3 running on Server 2012 R2

 Category Survey


-------------------------
I'd rather be fishing.
 09/13/2017 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Scott,

Hopefully rescheduling the task to run later will allow to you pinpoint whats causing the issue.

We look forward to hear from you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/22/2017 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottMiller
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 04/18/2005

Sorry, Devin, I missed your first comment. There are no close window actions waiting.

The first process would just hang near the beginning and not finish running. It appeared that it was responding too slowly to work correctly, yet the subsequent processes that run after it would all work fine.
There are no other processes running on this server at that time of the morning, yet when I pushed them to start at 7:30, they all seem to have worked. I'll keep and eye on it and see how it goes.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
I'd rather be fishing.
 09/22/2017 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi Scott,

Ok, let us know.



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 10/06/2017 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottMiller
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 04/18/2005

Still a problem. It ran fine once and has started acting up again.
It's almost like the server is responding too slowly. I have to manually re-run all the processes.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
I'd rather be fishing.
 10/09/2017 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Scott,

Would it be possible to set-up a remote support session where we can take a closer look at this issue? If this is possible please send an email over to AutoMate.Support@helpsystems.com with a list of your availability. Also please verify the Operating System of the machine in question and it's bit level, as well as the version and bit level of the AutoMate software.
Note: Please reference this forum thread in your email.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2170 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2170 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog