Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Import issue with tasks created by newer version
Topic Summary: Import issue
Created On: 07/09/2018 01:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/09/2018 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StevenSmith
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/09/2018

Automate version: Automate 11 / BPA Server 10.7.0.3
Version of Windows: Windows Server 2012 R2
Error Messages: There was an error during the import

We currently have BPA Server 10, and try to import the tasks, which were created from Automate V11.
We got the error message of "There was an error during the import".

On the forum, I have found some solution to solve the importing issues when migrating from V10 to V11 with DataStoreMigrationUtilities batch file,
but it seems not the right answer for our case.

Do you have any suggestion for our purposes?

Many Thanks
SS

 Category Survey
 07/09/2018 01:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hamid Noorbakhsh
HelpSystems

Posts: 454
Joined: 07/29/2008

Steven,
There is no backward migration path since when a version is released, the future changes are unknown and can not be anticipated. Since features in a newer version might not be available in older versions, there is no migration path to older version, only migrating previous versions to newer version. I hope this makes sense and is understandable in the way I explained it.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Thank you for choosing AutoMate

Hamid Noorbakhsh | Senior Software Engineer
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700

Edited: 07/09/2018 at 01:57 PM by Hamid Noorbakhsh
 07/10/2018 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StevenSmith
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/09/2018

Hi Hamid,
Thank you for your information!
It does make lots of sense to me to not have backward path from V11 to V10.
The example tasks by V11 were from our HELPSYSTEMS training.
I am wondering whether I can still find the training examples created from V10, e.g. HELPSYSTEMS archive websites in terms of official resources to our end users.
Forgive me if it's not appropriate questions here.
Many thanks!

SS

 Category Survey
 07/10/2018 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hamid Noorbakhsh
HelpSystems

Posts: 454
Joined: 07/29/2008

Steven,
Some sample tasks are posted in the User Resource Center (urc) http://www.networkautomation.com/urc/sample-tasks/. See if that helps? Otherwise I can ask the trainers to see if they have any specific links to archive material for you?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Thank you for choosing AutoMate

Hamid Noorbakhsh | Senior Software Engineer
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 07/11/2018 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StevenSmith
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/09/2018

Hi Hamid,
Appreciate your information. I have looked into the task in the list.
Some of them were created Automate 8/9/11, and a few were by V10.

I assume we will have the compatible issue with previous version.
Is it possible to ask the trainers, and see if they have examples in archive grouped by version (zip files).
It might be easier for us to approach this.

Many thanks!
SS

 Category Survey
 07/12/2018 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hamid Noorbakhsh
HelpSystems

Posts: 454
Joined: 07/29/2008

Steven,
Any task from versions 8 and 9 should get imported automatically when you open in AMTB, or you can just right click and import from AMTA. Of course v11 sample tasks usually will have the new features also and will not be compatible and they also do not import into 10. I don't know of any place that archived files are stored, BUT I can see if any of the trainers has any archive of their own and see if I can post it.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Thank you for choosing AutoMate

Hamid Noorbakhsh | Senior Software Engineer
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 07/13/2018 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hamid Noorbakhsh
HelpSystems

Posts: 454
Joined: 07/29/2008

Steven,
The link I provided are the only sample tasks available and tehre is also a knowledge base @http://www.networkautomation.com/urc/knowledgebase/. THose were the only material I was provided with.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Thank you for choosing AutoMate

Hamid Noorbakhsh | Senior Software Engineer
AutoMate | A Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 553 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 553 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog