Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Excel count returns 2 when 0
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/18/2018 12:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/18/2018 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnGardner
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/18/2018

This routine works perfectly except for when there is no data only headings. It returns 2 instead of 0. Is there a remedy? Thanks in advance. I got this routine from a forum post, thanks.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


Edited: 07/18/2018 at 11:31 PM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 07/18/2018 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

John,

Please provide a spreadsheet example that causes the issue you are outlining. There is nothing that we can determine from the task you have provided that would explain your issue. What field are you referencing from the dataset?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/19/2018 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnGardner
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/18/2018

Good Morning Leonard,

Thank you for your response. This routine provides a count of the number of rows in 14 Excel sheets. It is perfectly accurate if there is a row in addition to the headers. When there is a header only it gives a count of 2.

Here is a sample of a sheet that returns 2 instead of 0. The problem is if there is really 2 rows in the file.

A B C
cd_active_status parent_facility_id affiliation_status

vs

A B C
cd_active_status parent_facility_id affiliation_status
1 1 CD
1 1 CD
1 1 CD



Regards,

John

 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 07/24/2018 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello John,

Is it possible to please send sample excels and an export of the task to automate.support@helpsystems.com? Please reference this thread when doing so so we may open a support case.

thank you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 528 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 528 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog