Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Firewall ports for Agent deployment
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/04/2018 01:35 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/04/2018 01:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomColen
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/04/2018

Hi,

I've been looking everywhere, including the Port Reference table, but I cannot find which ports are specifically needed to do a succesful BPA Agent deployment from the BPA server.

I've done this a hundred times, but for some reason when I try to deploy an Agent to a new server I get

"<servername> : Computer with this name does not exist or access denied. Check the computer name, administrator username and password and firewall configuration."

Computer does exist and is resolvable, the administrator credentials are correct, so the only thing left is the firewall config. I've configured every known port, but for some reason I'm still unable to successfully deploy an Agent from the BPA server to the server where I need the Agent.

Can someone provide me with all the prerequisites for a successful Agent deployment?

Thanks

 Category Survey
 05/04/2018 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomColen
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/04/2018

Managed to fix it myself. The Agent server didn't have WMI allowed in the incoming firewall. Enabled the rule and the Agent deployment was successful.
You may want to add that to the User Guide.

 Category Survey
 05/10/2018 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

I adjusted the firewall rules for WMI to allow, but I am still getting the 'Access denied, most likely because the username and/or password is incorrect.

Suggestions?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 05/15/2018 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello James,

Can you verify if the username/password is correct?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/15/2018 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Yes, it is correct.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 05/15/2018 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello James,

Are you using a Domain Administrator account?

If the user is not an Administrator, are there any restrictions for the user that is being used?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/15/2018 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

It shouldn't need to be a domain admin; at most only an administrative-level account on the source and target machine.

But yes, the account I'm using in this case is actually a domain administrator account and both the source and target machines are in the same domain.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 05/18/2018 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello James,

Are there any percent signs in the password? If so, we will need to "double" each percent sign.

For example if the password is:

pass%word

then change it to

pass%%word

Have you tried installing the agent on the target machine itself and pointing back to the execution server during installation?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/21/2018 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Alex,

There are no %'s in the password.

Yes - I was able to manually copy the installer to the target machine and point it back to the execution server.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 05/23/2018 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello James,

If you are still experiencing the issue even when pointing back to the execution server, then the issue may very well be a firewall block or port issue. As a test, is it possible to temporarily drop the firewall, attempt to connect, then reestablish the firewall. This is a temporary test just to rule out if perhaps a firewall exception is needed.

Also, the default port for the agent to connect tis 9600. Is this port open on both the target and source machines?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/23/2018 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

No, I am only experiencing the issue when attempting to deploy the agent from the server. I was able to manually copy the agent installer to the target machine, install it and get it to work.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 05/30/2018 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello James,

I understand that you adjusted the firewall rules to allow the WMI, have you tried disabling the firewall for a deploy test? If so what were the results?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/31/2018 08:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

I have not disabled the firewall, since the message indicates a permissions issue, not a connectivity issue.

However, I upgraded our AM server last night from 11.0.1 to 11.0.5.8 with just a couple (odd/weird), but minor issues. After correcting those, all seems to be well with the upgrade, at the moment. After receiving your update on this post this morning I decided to try the Agent deployment again and interestingly enough, it is working now without having made any firewall changes. Was something corrected in the latest release to address Agent deployment issues?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
 06/05/2018 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi James,

We did an issue, bug# 22524, with the Agent Deploy first discovered in version 11.0.0.43, and corrected in the 11.0.2.22 release.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/06/2018 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Thank you for the follow-up Justin.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 10 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
<html />
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 517 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 517 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog